by Sheila

0202_spiffy-dudes_web

“Spiffy Dudes”, oil on cradled wood panel, 12″ x 24″, © Sheila G. Ticen

A few months ago I received an email from another local painter, Lin Weber, asking whether I’d be interested in joining her in helping the St. Helena Historical Society with their first-ever art auction fundraiser.  She told me about their idea of selecting old photos from their collection and asking artists to create work based on the historic photos.

I thought it sounded like a fun project, so I met with several of the board members to discuss the idea and see the photos they had chosen.  As soon as I saw the photo of these characters I was sold on the project.  The original photo was in aged black and white, well – more like charcoal and ivory.  A quilt that I had seen at an art show in the Marin Civic Center (and with which I was quite taken) became my color inspiration for this painting.

You can learn more about the St. Helena Historical Society here.

