Cooling It

by Sheila

0200_Something Nice

“Something Nice”, oil on panel, 6″ x 6″, by Sheila G. Ticen

 

It’s toasty here in the Napa Valley today.  When I checked our outdoor thermometer a few minutes ago it read 103 degrees.  Like I said, folks, toasty.  With that in mind, I thought it would be a good time to share some paintings and photos from recent outings on cooler days.

The painting above, “Something Nice,” is one that I started during the Tom Hughes workshop I took back in April.  I had been standing in the sun for hours, and had finally finished my first painting, but it was a bit early to just pack it in for the day.  So I set up my easel, in the shade this time, and got a good start on painting this little shrub.  I liked how it stood out from the darker and larger trees behind it.  A few days ago I pulled it out and finished it up, just working from memory.  I thought about calling it “Something Nice, Not too Expensive”, but what self-respecting Monty Python fan needs to have the whole line fed to them in order to get the reference?

0199_The Green Woods

“The Green Woods”, oil on panel, 8″ x 6″, by Sheila G. Ticen

 

“The Green Woods” (above) was painted on location in Bothe-Napa Valley State Park, near my home.  My friend and fellow painter, Carol Dick, and I hiked out and found a nice cool spot along Ritchie Creek in which to paint and enjoy our sack lunches.  The color of the light coming through all those leaves was gorgeous, and the sound of the nearby creek so relaxing.  The title for this one came from a snippet of lyric from an old song that my mom used to like to sing while hiking in the woods.

Hope you’re staying cool today!

IMG_4617

Carol painting along Ritchie Creek

 

IMG_4600

Sunlight through the trees, one of the photos I shot while painting at Bothe State Park.

 

IMG_4619

Reflected light on Ritchie Creek.

.

