Little Things

by Sheila

It was a struggle for me to get back to work in the studio after this year’s Open Studios Napa Valley.  So much time and energy goes into preparing for the event that it always seems to take me a while to get my momentum back afterward.

This year it seemed harder than usual.  It helps to know that other artists encounter similar blocks.  It kind of goes with the territory, really.  With that in mind, I’ve decided to do whatever it takes to nurture my creativity and just keep translating ideas into pictures.  Oh yeah, and maybe even have fun doing it.  Maybe remind myself that it’s okay that not every piece I make is going to be a winner.

So, I’ve been working on smaller paintings lately, and drawing a lot.  I’m actually drawing more now than I’ve done since I was in school.  More drawing, less pressure.

I’ll be sharing some of my new work as it comes along here.  Not all of these pieces will make it to my main website.  My hope is to use my blog to document the twists and turns I make as I attempt to pull out of what felt for a while there like a creative nosedive.  Oh yeah, and to, “Lighten up, Francis!”

 

0170_FamilyResemblance_web

“Family Resemblance”, oil on panel, 6″ x 6″ © Sheila G. Ticen

0171_SingleShot_web

“Single Shot”, oil on panel, 6″ x 6″, © Sheila G. Ticen

0172_NovemberRose_web

“November Rose”, oil on panel, 6″ x 6″, © Sheila G. Ticen

0173_RedPear_web

“Red Pear”, oil on panel, 7″ x 5″, © Sheila G. Ticen

 

