Good Company

by Sheila

I was very happy to find that my painting, Long Haul, received one of the Honorable Mention awards given by Renny Pritkin, the juror for the 2012 Fall National Juried Exhibition.  The exhibition opened on Saturday, August 25th, and will be on display at the Marin Museum of Contemporary Art in Novato, California through Sunday, September 30th.

Renny Pritkin giving the Juror’s Talk

Mr. Pritkin is the Director of the Richard L. Nelson Gallery and The Fine Arts Collection at University of California, Davis.  During the Juror’s Talk, which he gave at the opening reception, he discussed his choices for the 1st, 2nd and 3rd place awards.  He was even kind enough to include the pieces selected for honorable mentions in his remarks, which at LEAST one of the artists in attendance really appreciated.  A lot.  I really enjoyed hearing what he had found most interesting and successful about each of the pieces he selected, and okay, I’m not above wanting someone to like my work enough to be willing to talk about it.  As you can see by the above photo, there are some incredible artworks in this exhibition, and I’m delighted to be in such good company.

